Is Learning a Product or a Process?

Is Learning a Product or a Process?.

This is an interesting read!  The author lays out a concise, yet clear differentiation between product-based and process-based learning.

Learning, in my opinion, IS a process– a beautiful process!  The Common Core is product-based.  I see it already in the Pearson print-outs my son brings home on a regular basis.  I also see it in the “art” (coloring in the picture) “projects” that seem clearly crammed into the schedule–They’re quick and easy and don’t take much time away from “curriculum.”  They’re also boring, like the Pearson worksheets, and do NOTHING for process-based learning.

Anyway, please read the essay linked above.  I’m sure more on this subject will follow from me, so stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “Is Learning a Product or a Process?

  1. Pingback: My 15 Minutes… « The Plain Satisfactions

    • I know, it makes me so sad, then angry, then fully motivated to do whatever I can to TRY to change it… at least a little.

Leave a Reply

