True Exaggerations

To a majority of my readers who follow this blog to hear my perspectives on education, I apologize.  Education will still be my top priority, but I have to add to this blog in order to satisfy a more multifaceted me!  In order “to preside over the sweet needs and plain satisfactions of life” I must talk about other things.  For my readers devoted solely to education, I will make it easier for you to skip these posts of non-importance by categorizing & labeling them as True Exaggerations.

What are true exaggerations?  For the most part they are stories.  Often times, they will have something to do with children and with parenting.  They might also be related to school.  They might be my stories.  They might be stories I’ve heard.  They might be based in truth, or made up entirely.

But what is truth?  And, how do we determine what is true?  Can truth be defined in the same way, at the same time, and for each person hearing it?  For me, I believe that truth is interpreted and manifests itself to each of us in its own way.  Truth can be a series of events looked at objectively, but we “read” truth based on our own experiences and expectations, our own biases and emotions.  Truth can change over time depending on who we are, where we’ve been in life’s journey, or where we are going.

When we hear a story, or experience an event, we can place varying degrees of emphasis on different elements of the story.  We can choose to ignore parts and exaggerate others.  We can twist the truth as we retell the story in our own minds or relay it to others.  They in turn can do the same thing.  And how do our memories of the truth change as the story is relayed directly or after it seasons for a while in our thoughts?

These stories might be funny.  They might be sad.  They might be serious or sinister.  They might even be downright crude!  I’m sure some with not be politically correct.  And it might not be clear if these stories are my truth, that of another, or even just a quick flash of neurological activity that never actually occurred.  Should you choose to share these stories, please feel free to adjust the level of truth to fit your own needs!

Let me end this particular post with a short story of dialogue between a mother and her son:

Mama, today I opened my penis and I saw that I don’t have any stinging testicles.

Honey, your testicles aren’t inside your penis, they’re below it.

But how come we don’t have any stinging testicles?

Ooooh, you mean stinging tentacles!

Leave a Reply

