Sweet, Thoughtful Oscar

This morning my heart was warmed and filled with love when I was given an unexpected gift.

When the sun rises, I’m usually the first one up in my house, but today when I woke up I found that my six-year-old son Oscar was already awake. I went downstairs and did not find him there. I asked my husband where he was. I was informed that Oscar was in his room playing with Lego. I drank my coffee and snuggled with my two-year-old daughter, Mara–our typical morning ritual. Still Oscar did not appear.

After a time, I went to check on him. His door was hard to open and I found that he had placed his heavily laden large wooden treasure chest as a barricade in front of the door. The delay in opening the door, apparently a well-planned delay tactic, gave Oscar enough time to gather his things and disappear under the bed. “Go away,” I was immediately told!

I thought something was wrong, but upon asking I was again told to leave, that he didn’t want me there. Respecting his privacy, I retreated and went across the hall to my room to get dressed. Minutes later, Oscar appeared with a smile on his face and his hands behind his back.

“I have something for you, Mama,” he said.

“What is it?” I asked.

Oscar then produced a glass jar and handed it to me. “Frum Oscar… To Mama” it said on the lid.

“Is this a present for me?” I asked.

“Yes,” he answered, his smile getting wider.

“Thank you!” I said and gave him a big hug and a kiss. “You’re so sweet.”

“Do you wanna open it?” asked Oscar.

I unscrewed the jar and pulled out something bundled in white paper. When I opened the paper, I found an assortment of Lego pieces.

“There’s something else,” Oscar said, and he pulled out another piece of white paper upon which something was written.

I looked. He had drawn me instructions to build something from the Lego pieces.

“It’s to build a Monster truck!” he said excitedly.

We followed his directions and built the Monster truck. I was so touched by this unexpected gift, and the genuine caring and thoughtfulness he displayed. He’s like that… a sweet little boy who often thinks of others. I love him dearly and am awed by him every day. He is amazing and I am proud to be his mother.

DSC_9810DSC_9812DSC_9813DSC_9814

One thought on “Sweet, Thoughtful Oscar

  1. Pingback: Da Best Baby Girl Evah! | The Plain Satisfactions

Leave a Reply

